Minecraft: Practical Application in the Classroom

Over the last couple of weeks, I had the opportunity to test out and play with MinecraftEDU in CEP 813.  Although I had been playing Minecraft for over a year, I had never played it on a computer using a keyboard or a mouse.  Also I have never played outside of creative mode.  My lack of experience in both these areas caused some difficulty while learning to play MinecraftEDU.  Check out my video below of my first initial experience with MinecraftEDU.

Our final task for this module was to create an area that would assess our students.  I work as an instructional technology and data coach for three districts and our local ESD, so I wanted to create an hands on, task based area that would challenge teachers’ minecraft skills and generate ways to use MinecraftEDU inside classrooms.  Here is a video of my MinecraftEDU Playground for teachers.

About Ashlie O'Connor

Wife, Mom, Educator, Enjoy every moment!

Posted on October 25, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

